Previous Award-Winners

Winners of the 2012-2013 Teacher Awards

Over the years the Teacher Awards program has been made possible by the generous support of several family foundations who are committed to supporting education:

  • The Brooke Jackman Foundation
  • The Christopher Slattery September 11th Memorial Foundation
  • The Greg Richards, Larry Polatsch
  • Scott Weingard (GLS) Memorial Fund
  • The Michael J. Armstrong Memorial Foundation
  • The Mullan family in memory of Firefighter Michael D. Mullan
  • The Terence D. Gazzani 9/11 Scholarship Fund
  • The Terry Farrell Firefighters Fund
  • The Welles Remy Crowther Charitable Trust

Additional support has been provided by the September 11th Families’ Association.

Read about the projects of this year’s Teacher Award winners >>

Previous Award Winners

2012 – 2013 Awardees

Comments and awards were presented by Regent Kathleen Cashin of the New York State Education Department

  • Raymond Pultinas, DeWitt Clinton High School: Bronx, New York
  • Desiree LaFontaine, P.S. 49: Bronx, New York
  • Jessica Kuehn and Shari Bowes, Waverly Park School: East Rockaway, New York
  • Robert Sandler, Stuyvesant High School: Manhattan, New York
  • Lisa McGinn, Bay Trail Middle School: Penfield, New York
  • Lesley Ayers and Wendy Cox, Owens Intermediate School: Houston, Texas
  • Rachel Rowley, Jonathon Law High School: Milford, Connecticut
  • Craig Fabec, Chavez Huerta Preparatory Academy: Pueblo, Colorado

2011 – 2012 Awardees

Comments and awards were presented by Roger Tilles, State Education Department Regents Member

  • Elisa De Gregorio & Christine Mulholland, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis High School for International Careers: New York, NY
  • Thomas Buxton & Roma Karas, William McKinley I.S. 259: Brooklyn, New York
  • Joe Golossi, Elysian Charter School: Hoboken, New Jersey
  • Courtney Ruggiero, Bedford Middle School: Westport, Connecticut
  • Nicholas Rivera & Nancy Scotto, Pelham Preparatory Academy: Bronx, New York
  • Melissa Katz, Mamaroneck High School: Mamaroneck, New York
  • Amy Ferriso, Eugenio Maria De Hostos Intermediate School 318: Brooklyn, New York
  • Katie LeCaptain, Prince of Peace School: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Craig Goldberg, MS 582: Brooklyn, New York
  • Chris Doyle, Watkinson School: Hartford, Connecticut

2010 – 2011 Awardees

Comments and awards were presented by Dr. Betty Rosa, State Education Department Regents Member

  • Evan Madin, Queens Gateway to Health Sciences Secondary School: Queens, New York
  • Mary Albarino, John S. Burke Catholic High School: Goshen, New York
  • Michelle Mastrande, Great Neck North Middle School: Great Neck, New York
  • Kelly O’Connor-Iacobaccio, Rondout Valley School: Accord, New York
  • Jill Schechter, Woodhome Elementary Middle School: Baltimore, Maryland

2009 – 2010 Awardees

Comments and awards were presented by Dr. Christine Cea, State Education Department Regents Member

  • Susan Linder, Lynbrook School District: Lynbrook, New York
  • Erin Boughton, Our Lady of the Hamptons School: Southampton, New York
  • Chris Ougheltree, Cranston High School East: Cranston, Rhode Island
  • Robert Orlando, High School of Computer and Technology: Bronx, New York
  • Mark Otto, The Facing History School: New York, New York

2008 – 2009 Awardees

Comments and awards were presented by Jeffrey Cannell, State Education Department Deputy Commissioner for Cultural Education

  • Aaden Stern and Courtney Winkfield, Academy for Young Writers: Brooklyn, New York
  • Noriko Koide, Valley Stream High School & Lynbrook High School: Long Island, New York
  • Jamie Ellinger, Northside College Preparatory High School: Chicago, Illinois
  • Michael Chrvala, Shiloh Middle School: Hampstead, Maryland

2007 – 2008 Awardees

Comments and awards were presented by James Diaz, Chief of Staff, Office of the Deputy Chancellor for Teaching and Learning in the NYC Department of Education

  • Les Klein, PS 5: New York, New York
  • Linda Sedda, PS/IS: Brooklyn, New York
  • Gregg Breinberg, Jeanne Koleniak-Burns & Leslie Johnson, PS 22: Staten Island, New York
  • Dan Fielding, High School for Leadership and Public Service: New York, New York
  • Todd Peterson, Barron Collier High School: Naples, Florida
  • Keiko Wada, Wada School of Kumon Method: Shizouka City, Japan